In 1895, James Walker Tufts purchased 500 acres (2.0 km2), and eventually purchased an additional 5,500 acres (22 km2), of land for approximately $1.25 per acre in the North Carolina Sandhills, with the vision of building a “health resort for people of modest means”. Tufts retained Frederick Law Olmsted to design the village, which features curving lanes and a picturesque central green.
Originally dubbed Tuftstown during development, Tuftstown became the village of Pinehurst, and home of the Pinehurst Resort. In 1890, the village became a municipality.
The first golf course at Pinehurst Resort was laid out in 1897-1898. The first championship held at Pinehurst was the United North and South Amateur Championship of 1901. The best known course, Pinehurst No. 2, was designed by Donald Ross and completed in 1907. Pinehurst Race Track was established in 1915. The resort now has nine golf courses, three hotels, a spa, and extensive sports and leisure facilities. * (source: Wikipedia)